Environment, Food, Photography, Rambling, Travelling

Melbstagram

Flinders St Station, from Federation Square

Flinders Street Station, from Federation Square.

It’s now been two whole weeks since my sister and I returned from Melbourne!

Here’s some happy snaps from Instagram, since I’m much too lazy to actually look through all the photos I took, let alone select my favourites…

G'day, Melb!

G’day, Melb!

Got DRENCHED at Brighton Beach Station for absolutely no reason at all.

Got DRENCHED at Brighton Beach Station for absolutely no reason at all. #thisismelbourne

Words of wisdom from a Melbourne laneway.

Words of wisdom from a graffiti-covered laneway.

Rainbow after the storm as water still filled our boots, Swanston Street

Rainbow after the storm as water still filled our boots, Swanston Street.

Enjoying a sticky rice flavoured ice-cream at Passionflower, Bourke Street!

Enjoying sticky rice flavoured ice cream at Passionflower, Bourke Street!

The famous Brighton Beach Bathing Boxes. Beautiful day!

The famous Brighton Beach Bathing Boxes. Beautiful day!

Atop the Eureka Skydeck 88, looking down at the little people.

Atop the Eureka Skydeck 88, looking down at the little people.

Can't finish off a journey without some desserts in Chinatown!

Can’t finish off a journey without some desserts in Chinatown!

 

A few things I learned from Australia’s cultural capital:

1) Everyone smokes. Everyone. Compared to Melbourne, everyone in Sydney must have gorgeous lungs and sinuses. I assume the pack-a-day habit must have something to do with the city’s chilly weather.

2) Everyone also owns a set of cool wheels. And by set of wheels, I mean two eco-friendly ones, along with a little bell. Is it a little contradictory that Melbournians like to smoke their lungs out, but reimburse the environment by avoiding the perils of private transport emissions?

3) Melbourne really has that charm about it – I don’t know if it’s the graffiti laneways, moody weather, or famed boutiques lined up along hidden alleys. Probably all three. I pined for it even before I left.

P.S. You may remember that I jetted off to Hawaii back in February. Yes, I still haven’t managed to upload those photos, either. Oops. I’ll do that someday. My never-ending pile of year-old ASOS returns boxes grunt in agreement.

I  believe in mutual stalking:

Twitter @theDebbyRachel

Tumblr @icandobetterthanthat

Instagram @debbyrachel

Standard

Leave a Reply

