Rambling

It’s still January, so I’m NOT a procrastinator.

Hi, my name is Debby, and I do NOT procrastinate. At all.

Okay, that’s a lie. There’s, what, 30 seconds until it’s February? And I haven’t bothered to blog for a while. Seriously, what is happening to Debby? Also, why am I referring to myself in the third person? Officially. Lost. It. Okay, onto the purpose of this post. Because I’m so predictable, it’s about… NEW YEAR’S RESOLUTIONS! Which is actually kind of irrelevant now since it’s the 31st already (how did THAT happen?!), but remember, it’s still January for another 5 seconds, so it’s okay.

“A New Year’s resolution is a commitment that a person makes to one or more personal goals, projects, or the reforming of a habit.” – My best and most reliable friend, Wikipedia. (No, really!)

New Year’s Resolutions. It’s a topic that some people love (woo! Yay! New year, new start!), but most people hate, simply because we all know that 99.9% of us Just.  Don’t. Keep. Them.

I find it pretty ironic that we view the beginning of a new year as a chance to start afresh and achieve new goals, yet when I ask anybody what their New Year’s resolutions are, they say, “Oh, I don’t really have one… cause… yeah.”

Head. Desk.

Of course I understand that people simply forget about their goals – usually to do with getting fit, saving money, saving the world – and that would be acceptable, if not for the fact that it is a total lie. The reason why we’re not achieving our goals is not because we’re not aware of them, but it’s because we’re faced with them every day and just not doing anything about them.

Take blogging for instance. I vowed to blog, say, once or twice a week during the holidays. Totally achievable, right? Probably, if not for the fact that I just kept putting it off for whatever reason. Fear, perhaps? But… what really is there to be fearful of?

It seems like every year we make resolutions that really are just our bad habits disguised as resolutions. But guess what? If we work on our flaws, maybe over time it just might get better. So get out your pen and paper, pre-iPhone style and start making those plans! And actually do them! Woo! Are you inspired now?!?! Maybe not. But I tried.

So, here’s my list of things I want to do but will never do resolutions, because I will totally be working on them this year (maybe):

  • Start driving. I have my learner’s license but have never even put a key in the ignition. Shameful.
  • Become more of a journalist. Write, intern, get published, ask questions, put my hand up more.
  • Get healthy. This is a hard one because it’s so easy to disregard. That means salads (garden, not crunchy noodle with 100% fat dressings) over Maccas, legs over wheels, apples over Crunchies. And snoozing over late-night Facebook messaging and other pointless time-wasting activities, regardless of how “social” they are.
  • Learn Chinese seriously. I didn’t extend my degree for two years to be $______ more out of pocket and STILL be unilingual.
  • Learn another skill, like take up the piano again or give tennis a shot.
  • Be more in control of myself, my life, my emotions, my direction, my future.
  • Find what drives me and stick with it and continue to hone it.
  • Focus on long-term rather than short-term pleasures.
  • When in doubt, think “What would Audrey do?” And do it.
  • STOP. PROCRASTINATING.

I’m pretty sure I won’t have much luck with the last one. Okay, all of them. But especially the last one.

P.S. This is kind of irrelevant now since so much time has passed (whose fault is that, anyway?), but to all the people who wrote long sappy ‘goodbye 2012, look how much I’ve achieved and how awesome I am and how jealous you are of my life!’ posts on their Facebook walls, seriously, nobody cares. Do your ranting in a non-annoying way, like me: I keep a diary, Tumblr (which is basically attention-seeking central, so it’s okay) and this blog. So my self-obsessed musings are totally acceptable.

Rant over. You can FB unfriend me now, as long as you follow me on Twitter, Tumblr and Instagram.

P.P.S. When all else fails, 1:30 1:30 1:30 1:30

Standard

Leave a Reply

